Tales of the Abyss 3D – First Impressions

I was late to the 3DS craze, though regardless of that, I had to do what I do every time I buy a new console, check out the main JRPG’s on it. Seeing that Tales of the Abyss was ported to it, I decided to give it a shot.

For the most part, I’m digging the game. The graphics improved a lot from the previous games with full sized character models, not deformed “sprites”, bringing the graphics even closer to the anime artstyle. The only minor gripe is that despite being a late PS2 title, it still has a fixed camera angle. The other main JRPG franchises successfully went full 3D at this time, so I was hoping Abyss would be as well, but I digress. While I feel that I won’t be as fully engrossed in the game world like a full 3D world, this doesn’t take away from the gameplay as a whole, it’s just a nicety.

For the story, while I’m only a few hours in and it’s slowly coming out, it’s been a bit slow, yet still keeping me entertained. Tear is a very likable character, and while Luke is kind of annoying, he’s alright. I’m hoping he becomes more likable as the game progresses, so hopefully he’ll mature. Mieu so far is the most useless character, as he seems like a mascot character and has no point besides being cute. Maybe he’ll become more usefull, but who knows at this point.

Tales of the Abyss is a pretty good RPG for the 3DS, though it doesn’t look like it’s changed much from the PS2 version, and the 3D capabilities of the 3DS don’t seem to be utilized that much, but it’s still a great buy if you’re a Tales fan, or just want to find a good RPG to play.

Leave a Reply

