Shin Megami Tensei Nocturne – First Impressions

Like many people, I was introduced to the Shin Megami Tensei franchise through Persona, namely Persona 2 Eternal Punishment, so I was always interested in the main series. I was excited when I finally found it available on the PSN for $9.99, because I had difficulty scouting a copy on the PS2, and even then it was still kind of pricey (though I shouldn’t talk as I paid for Persona 4 before the price drop). This was the first game in the main series to come to the US.

Even though this is SMT 3, there were three previous games, none of which ever came to the US… unless you want to count the iOS version of SMT1, but I don’t know if I should consider that or not. Reminds me of how there’s two Persona 2’s… now I’m just getting off track here.

So like the previous games, Nocturne follows the same formula of recruiting demons to form your party, but this is also the first game that’s 3D. The previous games were all first person. It’s also full 3D, none of that 3D, yet fixed camera angle bullshit. For a PS2 game, it still holds up to this day, maybe it’s the unique artstyle that keeps it unique, but hey whatever works.

At its core, it’s still mostly a traditional turn-based RPG with random encounters. Fighting with demons you’ve recruited is reminiscent of Pokemon, but with evil demons instead of cuddly Pokemanz. Also the recruiting business is also more complicated than capturing Pokemon. You just talk to them and hopefully make the correct dialog choices and they’ll join you, but sometimes you’ll never recruit them. Maybe my level isn’t high enough?

With the demon aspect, it’s not that much different from Persona 3/4, also like those two games, you can fuse demons together to make more powerful demons. Huh, maybe there should be arcana? Though what am I saying, this is the original series and Persona is the spinoff.

So far with the story, the premise is interesting, but I’m currently not sure what the hell the story is so far. The premise makes it seem like there’s more of a story heavy plot, but it isn’t. I’m not very far, so hopefully that’s the case. I’m about 9 hours into the game, and still don’t know what the hell is going on. I’m not too worried, Atlus has never let me down.

Leave a Reply

